Valentines Day

I was 17; she was 16.

It was a glorious summer … and then it fell apart. So did my heart.
And she was gone. Not just from my life; from town. Not even a hint of a rumor.

Hindsight tells me she was my first “real” love.

Puppy love? Could be, but I credit “puppy love” to Suzie instead. (I knew Suzie since we were three; got “engaged” when we were 8. We “broke up” when puberty hit. Suzie’s in Tucson now … but she’s a fond memory I keep in touch with every once in a while. That’s puppy love.
Hi Suzie!!

A substantial portion of a century went by … and I heard from her.
I found out what happened. Nothing earth-shattering … now.
Sure was then.

We shared a few memories. Found out we still enjoyed the same things, the same places (two people from the Great Lakes ending up liking Bishop???)

Anyway, our conversations – a few years ago … she’s now faded back into a dark and dusty corner of my universe … led me to think on later loves. I wasn’t aware of how much our relationship of that short summer long ago influenced the women I later became attracted to. I wasn’t aware of how much she was even now still a part of what I am. Buried deep, but still there.

Jack and Pam met in 7th or 8th grade. They’re still happily married.

I am NOT old enough to know couples that have been together almost 50 years. (But Dave was a grandfather at 36…)

Rob and Katy met when she was 15. Their oldest is into college now; 2nd not far behind

I just celebrated one of my wedding anniversaries on Feb 13 (because it was Friday, not because it was Valentines Day). Same woman … we just have three anniversaries (long story). And no regrets. Loved One chose me to be the grave she cries over … and I do my best to put that off as long as possible.


I’ve had itchy feet all my life, but sometimes – not too often anymore – I wonder … what if?

She was the type of girl to wear a clown nose for her high school senior picture.
Seems she has itchy feet as well.


Happy Valentine’s Day, wherever you may be.

About Quizikle

Ornery Curmudgeon
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

